Assignment – Week 1: Web design

Along with the usual stuff you hear/read about such as W3C validation, fast loading pages/images, and the ubiquitous minimal tables rule, I came across a few different bits of advice when it came to resolution. One web log gave me the standard rule of 800 x 600. I understand that if you’re building a site that is meant to attract many different users with many different (less awesome) computers that 800 x 600 is the safe choice. I’ve always kinda bent that rule, sometimes even by as much as 200px, which is exactly what another web log condoned. Of course I’m not necessarily designing conventional sites. My main project that I have going is my portfolio site which is far from complete. I’ve looked up other photographers websites and some are more traditional than others, but the ones I always like the best tend to bend or break a lot of the basic guidelines. For example, multiple sites I have liked have scrolled horizontally instead of vertically and they really pulled it off with well executed design… as far as I know with my limited design education. I suppose we can get away with that because we’re not necessarily trying to draw the average internet user to our portfolio site; that’s what flickr is for. My goal for my portfolio site is to attract potential employers and clients who will likely have high screen resolution and an appreciation for my (hopefully) refreshing take on web design.

Another interesting thing I kept coming across was the idea that the navigation should be intuitive and not alienate users. I couldn’t agree more and I’m always worried that menu ideas that I have will not make sense to someone else so that’s a topic I find interesting. It goes back to my DVD Studio Pro class where Dr. Holmes taught us about menus and usability for a DVD which has its parallels with web design. I’m dying to get to the point with my skills where I can conceptualize something so cool and different looking, but maintains a high degree of user-friendliness.

One more thing I came across that excites me (and this goes back to resolution) is the idea of designing with percentages instead of pixels. I don’t know that I’ve seen or at least noticed a site like that. I’m highly intrigued by the concept and hope to learn more in the coming weeks so I can incorporate it into my work.

20 ways to make your website crap
Community Success Factors 4: Design & Nurture
effective design principles followed by Agile Technosys

4 Responses to “Assignment – Week 1: Web design”

  1. Katie Says:

    I honestly have never seen a site completely designed using percentages, but, hey whatever floats your boat. I’m so used to pixels. I do agree on the whole break the basic guidelines of designing. I love visiting photography sites because they always follow the ‘less is more’ motto and I love learning from them. Plus, I love photography.
    I love the article 20 ways to make your website crap. I used to do some of those things. That was a long time ago, when I was still learning, way before I came to A.I.D. Thanks goodness I don’t do any of that anymore.

  2. Andrew Callander Says:

    I agree with you that designers always try to break and/or stretch the basic rules and guides for web. I think that is how we all work, we always want to push that design and concept further. I think it’s awesome that people push the limits and go outside the box. The concept of the horizontal scroll is a nice idea, I know some websites like you’ve stated that do not pull it off that well. The ones that do make it almost like a story book and pull the user in.

    “Another interesting thing I kept coming across was the idea that the navigation should be intuitive and not alienate users. I couldn’t agree more and I’m always worried that menu ideas that I have will not make sense to someone else so that’s a topic I find interesting. It goes back to my DVD Studio Pro class where Dr. Holmes taught us about menus and usability for a DVD which has its parallels with web design. I’m dying to get to the point with my skills where I can conceptualize something so cool and different looking, but maintains a high degree of user-friendliness.” – Would you mind posting what Dr. Holmes explained (If you remember, don’t know if it was a while ago), not all of it but something that struck you.

    Your last section about the percentage vs pixels is interesting. Maybe we can have Wayne help us learn and explain a little more.

  3. usernumber Says:

    I like how you said, “I’m dying to get to the point with my skills where I can conceptualize something so cool and different looking, but maintains a high degree of user-friendliness.” That’s what I’d like to achieve, too. I can’t wait to see your portfolio.

    -Lousha

  4. wayne batchelder Says:

    Some interesting points and your honesty with them is good – so too is your classmates comments! As for screen size or resolution, that changes with time and new technologies. The most common size today is 960 pixels and some are beginning to work with 1024. You always have to go under the actual screen capability because of OS and Applications taking up space – especially with Win and IE.
    As for using %’s, we will cover that but you might want to research “CSS + elastic layouts” and “CSS + Liquid layouts”. We will review these concepts in class later.

Leave a comment